FEMA releases National Protection Framework

This summer, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) released the first edition of their National Protection Framework. The National Protection Framework is one of five National Planning Frameworks which cover the five preparedness mission areas: prevention, protection, mitigation, response, and recovery. Each Framework describes whole-of-community efforts to address the mission areas.

The National Protection Framework describes what the whole community should do to safeguard against acts of terrorism, natural disasters, and other threats or hazards. It describes the core capabilities, roles and responsibilities, and coordinating structures that facilitate the protection of individuals, communities, and the Nation.

The National Protection Framework’s eleven core capabilities include:

  • Planning
  • Public Information and Warning
  • Operational Coordination
  • Access Control and Identity Verification
  • Cybersecurity
  • Intelligence and Information Sharing
  • Interdiction and Disruption
  • Physical Protective Measures
  • Risk Management for Protection Programs and Activities
  • Screening, Search, and Detection
  • Supply Chain Integrity and Security

The National Protection Framework recognizes, values, and leverages existing coordinating structures, and coordinates protection capabilities through existing partnerships at all levels of government and with the private sector and NGOs

The National Prevention Framework, National Mitigation Framework, and National Response Framework were released in May 2013.

protection framework - july2014

For more information about the disaster response frameworks, please follow the links below.
National Protection Framework
Overview of the National Planning Frameworks, FEMA
FEMA Releases Disaster Response Frameworks, Simons Center

  • "*" indicates required fields


    Sign up to receive updates by email. We do not sell or share your info.

    This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.